Choral/ Orchestral work inspired by 10 famous WW1 poems

Music composed by Laura Rossi
Featuring readings by Vanessa Redgrave & Ralph Fiennes

remembrance cover

Voices of Remembrance received it’s World Premiere Remembrance Weekend, November 2015 at Assembly Hall, Worthing. Performed by Worthing Symphony Orchestra and Worthing Chamber Choir, conducted by John Gibbons and narrated by Vanessa Redgrave. 


Southernhay Church, Exeter – November 7th 2015 7.30pm. Performed by Exeter Symphony Orchestra and The St David’s Singers, conducted by Brian Northcott, narrated by Felicity Cawthra and Kenneth Parry

Manchester Cathedral – 18th October 2016 7.30pm. Performed by Chetham’s Sinfonia & Chamber Choir, conducted by Stephen Threlfall, narrated by Vanessa Redgrave

Jersey Opera House – 22nd October 2016 7.30pm. Performed by Jersey Youth Chamber Orchestra and Chetham’s Sinfonia & Jersey Youth Chamber Choir & Beaulieu Chamber Choir, conducted by Stephen Threlfall, narrated by Toby Haggith.

The Great Hall, Dartington, Devon –  9th May 2017 (2 performances) 5pm & 7.30pm. Performed by Dartington Community Choir and Dartington Sinfonietta, conducted by Simon Capet, narrated by Vanessa Redgrave.

Vanessa Redgrave & Ralph Fiennes read famous war poems in new work by Laura Rossi

Voices of Remembrance is an orchestral/choral work featuring poetry readings by Vanessa Redgrave & Ralph Fiennes, written to commemorate and remember the soldiers who lived, fought and died in the First World War.

Through her experience scoring The Battle of the Somme and her extensive research on World War One, Laura Rossi has created a richly evocative work that combines her stunningly emotive music with these important historical poems.

Vanessa Redgrave and Ralph Fiennes bring their unique artistry to the work. Their readings are incredibly moving and expressive. The combination of the music and poetry moves us closer to the thoughts and feelings of the soldiers: their spirit, their strength, their hopes and fears.

The Battle of the Somme and personal connections with WW1

When writing a new score for the famous IWM 1916 film The Battle of the Somme, Laura discovered her great uncle Fred (pictured on the CD cover) was a stretcher bearer attached to the 29th Division on July 1st 1916, who feature in the film. Through his diaries she retraced his footsteps across the Somme Battlefields. He was the only one of his pals who survived. Here’s a picture of them together and a short diary extract:

9. fred and laura smallFRED DIARY SHORT EXTRACTThis close family connection and the fact that he may be in the film, inspired Laura’s score. The IWM Battle of the Ancre film is released on DVD in November 2017 with Laura’s new score and her score for the Battle of the Somme was performed live with film 100 times to mark the centenary in 2016/17 at performances including BBC Symphony Orchestra at Thiepval, France, New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Wellington and The BBC Concert Orchestra, Royal Festival Hall. The Philharmonia Orchestra recorded the music for the DVD and CD and performed the premiere at The Queen Elizabeth Hall, London.

Poetry & Music by Laura Rossi

‘Reading my uncle’s diaries and remembering his voice made the connection to that time so much more vivid and had a profound effect on me. I wanted to go deeper into the feelings and emotions that the personal connection to the battle, the soldiers, and remembering my uncle brought to me.

Music and poetry have a unique way of helping us to get closer to the thoughts and feelings of the soldiers. The voices, the words reach out to us from behind the grainy black and white images from so long ago.’

”We will remember them.”

Critical acclaim for Laura’s music

LAURAPIC‘Brilliantly effective’ – The Times.
‘A terrific composer’ – Classic FM
‘Extremely accomplished music’ – The Independent.
‘Stunningly beautiful, an amazing achievement’ – 5 Alarm Music.

About the composer

Laura Rossi has written extensively for film and television, including scores for Paul Andrew Williams’ critically acclaimed features, London to Brighton and Song for Marion. She has also scored many silent films including the British Film Institute’s Silent Shakespeare and the famous IWM 1916 film The Battle of the Somme. Her music has been recorded and performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra, the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and the BBC Concert Orchestra and performed at the Barbican, the Royal Festival Hall and the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London. Laura is also lecturer for film music at the London Film Academy.

For more info about Laura’s music and a full transcription of her uncle’s war diaries go to:


  1. Break of Day in the Trenches by Isaac Rosenberg, read by Vanessa Redgrave
  2. Break of Day in the Trenches (orchestral)
  3. The Soldier poem by Rupert Brooke (orchestral/ choral)
  4. Into Battle by Julian Grenfell, read by Ralph Fiennes
  5. Into Battle (orchestral)
  6. Before Action by William Noel Hodgson, read by Vanessa Redgrave
  7. Before Action (orchestral)
  8. A Lark above the Trenches poem by John William Streets (orchestral/ choral)
  9. Dulce et Decorum est by Wilfred Owen, read by Ralph Fiennes
  10. Dulce et Decorum est (orchestral/ choral)
  11. Anthem for Doomed Youth by Wilfred Owen, read by Vanessa Redgrave
  12. Anthem for Doomed Youth (orchestral)
  13. In Memoriam by Ewart Alan Mackintosh, read by Ralph Fiennes
  14. In Memoriam (orchestral)
  15. In Flanders Fields by John McCrae, read by Vanessa Redgrave
  16. In Flanders Fields (orchestral)
  17. For the Fallen poem by Robert Binyon (orchestral/ choral)

Music composed by Laura Rossi
Readings by Vanessa Redgrave and Ralph Fiennes
Performed by The Chamber Orchestra of London and RSVP Voices
Conducted by Alastair King
Recorded at Angel Studios, London
Engineered by Steve Price
Mixed by Iain Roberton
Design by Taz Mattar

Notes to Editors:
For press information and images contact:
Laura Rossi – laura@laurarossi.com Tel: 07765 293 822
For more details about the CD go to: http://www.laurarossi.com/voices
Available on iTunes Amazon and Spotify
To listen to the album click here
To buy the CD go to: http://www.boosey.com/
To hire the score or view online go to: http://www.boosey.com/
logo-imagemLogo1orchard-generic-album 100[1]